A Royal Weekend in Udaipur


Life can start feeling mundane pretty fast. Living in a routine can rob us of the thrills that life has to offer and you know what they say about “All work and no play, makes Jack a dull boy”. I don’t know about Jack,  but I hate monotony. Sometimes all you need is a warm bath and a glass of wine,  to cut back and relax and basically be treated like royalty. And that is exactly what I did,  when the opportunity presented itself.

Udaipur,  the name itself conjures up a sense or royalty and luxury. The historical city is known for its majestic history and splendid architecture. It is a perfect mixture of history, culture and cosmpolitanism. I’d also like to add here that Udaipur is one of my most favorite cities in the world. Located around Lake Pichola, the charm of this small city lies in the beauty of this oasis. Everytime I visit Udaipur I am blown away by the beauty of the place.  For anyone yet to visit, I definitely recommend sitting in any one of the cafés surrounding the lake with a glass of wine during sunset. It is one of the best experiences.

The fact that I was stayin at The Leela Palace  did help, I am not going to lie. The luxury hotel which has worked up to the status of a heritage hotel, has its own charm. It faces a tough competition from the Taj Palace which is located in prime heritage property in the middle of the lake. But The Leela stands on its own, sitting on the banks of the lake.

This was my second stay at The Leela and I have to say, I wasn’t dissapointed. They have a beautiful location, excellent service and for a splash of culture thrown in- there are cultural events held every evening. I was excited for the five-star treatment that awaited.

 

Tuck in and enjoy scrolling through pictures of the beauty that is Udaipur.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

