What’s the story behind StickyWetNotes?


“Hey, Shinjini. What does the name of your blog mean?”  asks my friend and I am instantly taken back to memories of my high school.

Let me break it down for you. This story is my favourite story.

I have always been a writer. The only form of creativity I am capable of and good at. Or atleast I think I am. I have too many opinions about too many things, too many things I need to do an write about and too many places to visit. Too many ‘too many(s)’ can only be possible if I write them down. That is exactly what I used to do. All throughout the high school years I have maintained journals and note pads filled with ideas, lists, musings and random quotes from people, from movies and just about all forms of documentation.

Cut to 2006, the year of the notorious and legendary 8th grade. Because, and this is a true story,  our class was the ‘naughtiest’ of the classes and some minor school incidents- thre was the infamous Rule that was introduced, that caused much contempt from us students and provided a lot of relief to the school authorities. According to this unjust of a Rule, we were subjected to a thorough checking of our bags, notebooks and uniform pockets everyday and thus we were witness to the decline of privacy at our school. Which means now apart from syllabus materials, pen, pencil, eraser, ruler and our tiffin boxes, we were not allowed to bring anything else to school. Which further meant that my journal – a friend at all times, had to stay home. What does this mean for someone like me who is at all times used to making mental lists instead of paying attention in class?

STICKY NOTES. blessed that they are- they saved me. Initially I used to just carry ’em every where because they are colourful and pretty. They are also handy when you have to make mental notes. I had so many- I didn’t know what to do with them. I used to write things on them and paste them every where.

Now comes the interesting part. In the 8th grade I lived in Shillong- the most beautiful place I have had the pleasure of living in ( 7 good years). Shillong is often referred to as the ‘Scotland of the east’. Shillong is also known for being one of the wettest places in Asia. It rained throughout the year. Our school bags would always be wet because kids that we were we would always play in the rain. This only meant that all my notebooks would get wet and yes, you get the drift.

I don’t know the purpose of this story, it is not a great story. There are other great and amazing stories that I could tell you. But for now this will suffice. A lot of people are intrigued by the name, and NO it is not a euphimism for anything. Those sticky notes meant a lot, a very important part of the process of growing up and exploring my creative abilities. They would get wet and the ink would start running and it would turn into a mush- and so would all the ideas it entailed.

So that’s it. No big deal. The name of the blog is derived from this small story- just a reminder of how far I have come. I like it when people are intrigued by it.

Hope now you won’t have to ponder over the name too much.

Until the next post.

The amount of sticky notes I use on a daily basis. And more

The amount of sticky notes I use on a daily basis. And more.

Leave a Reply

