Yoga challenge.


I have been forcing myself to ditch lethargy and embrace a disciplined lifestyle for over two months now. But it’s just so much hard work!

A couple of months ago I made a schedule, one which included me getting up at 5 in the morning and doing yoga, eating healthy, jogging, swimming, learning new and healthy recipes and getting that toned summer bod’ that everyone is suddenly talking about and I had a year ago. But for a lack of a better excuse, let me just cut to the chase, it didn’t work out. I moved out of the old accommodation, started grad school, changed dorms, got busy getting adjusted to the new life…and none of these excuses can give me the leeway to having ignored the routine.

I know how important it is to keep track of what you eat, how you feel, how your body feels. So I have been beating myself to start getting up at 5 and do some yoga. Initially I failed- I am not a morning person. I would do yoga and stretching exercises in the evening. But then I realised that it makes you more tired if you do it in the evening. So I got lazy again.

But then one wonders -How is one supposed to be any good at this if some discipline is not followed? I told myself this and put the alarm for 5:00 am the next day. Failed the 1st day again- you don’t have to tell me, I know I am completely bonkers.

But let me tell you- I forced myself out of the bed the next day and realised how happy and calm it makes you for the rest of your day. Especially if you throw in a good hour of yoga and exercise, a good newspaper editorial, a cool shower and a nice cup of green tea. This is a completely new world for Shinjini. The usually snobbish Shinjini was greeting everyone a good morning and smiling silly the whole day( that last part probably applies just generally to me). Having just discovered the perks and new found love in morning yoga- I challenge thee, whoever read’eth this piece of buffoonery to test the power of yoga( if you have it in you). Let’s embark on this journey together, you do you, I do me and let’s motivate each other to keep going on.

I will soon post an update on my progress. Here’s me signing off for today, in anticipation for more flexibility, and a picture from today’s yoga session. Namaste!

IMG_20140911_062818

2 thoughts on “Yoga challenge.

  1. Pingback: Lessons/ Life hacks I have Learnt in 2014 | Sticky Wet Notes

Leave a Reply

